A Kick in the Ass – Or, Perspective Adjustment

At my private composition lesson earlier this evening, just as I started playing the MIDI version of my orchestral piece for Prof. Davis, he snorted. And then he laughed.
 
I asked, “What is it?”
 
He merely pointed to the fourth measure (the FOURTH measure of a piece 426 measures long!) and asked, “What’s wrong with this?”
 
As soon as I saw it I started to laugh almost uncontrollably. I had scored the violins to play two notes on a single string. Which is, of course, impossible. And it as a sort of underlying drone for other instruments, the error went on for 51 measures! I felt like such a fool! And I’m soooo glad that I learned (finally) to laugh at myself!
About fester60613

Evangelical Antireligionist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

