Will Atheism Become Easier? | Greta Christinas Blog

Greta’s asking – let her know what you think!

If atheists continue to get our ideas into the world — not just our ideas about why religion is mistaken and atheism is right, but our ideas about how we live without a belief in God or a soul or an afterlife? If we continue to get our ideas in the air, and filtered down into the culture? If we can create a world where it’s pretty much impossible to grow up not knowing that atheists exist… the way it’s now pretty much impossible to grow up in America not knowing that gay people exist? If we can create a world where atheism is normal?I’m wondering if this struggle will be easier for the people who come into atheism after us. Or even if it will be a struggle at all. I’m wondering if they’ll look at atheism the way my friend Tim and I look at existentialism. “Sure, there’s no God, and my consciousness is a biological product of my brain, and my sense of a cohesive identity and selfhood is a somewhat illusory mental construction, and when I die I’ll just be gone forever. So what? That’s fine with me. I don’t see what the big deal is.”

via Will Atheism Become Easier? | Greta Christinas Blog.

About fester60613

Evangelical Antireligionist.
This entry was posted in Antireligion, Atheism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

